17 LC 114 0071

House Resolution 105

By: Representatives Smith of the 134th, Jasperse of the 11th, England of the 116th, Pirkle of the 155th, and McCall of the 33rd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and Mr. James Hancock, Mr. Arch D. Smith, and the
- 2 2016-2017 4-H Leadership Team and recognizing February 8, 2017, as 4-H Day at the state
- 3 capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Mr. James Hancock of Irwin County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 8 State 4-H Club President and Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative
- 9 Extension and Director and State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs
- 10 throughout Georgia; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of George Wurst of Columbia
- 12 County, Logan Huggins of Whitfield County, Sam Walters of Jefferson County, and Ericka
- 13 Lord of Ben Hill County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H
- 14 membership in their election of each of these young people to serve as president for
- 15 2016-2017; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Amelia
- 17 Payne of Bartow County, Sophia Rodriguez of Liberty County, Tyler Tucker of Ben Hill
- 18 County, and Kiana Washington of Oconee County was recognized in Washington, D.C., at
- 19 the 2016 National 4-H Conference; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Amelia Day of Houston County and Hannah Moseley of Bleckley County were
- 21 named 2016 Leadership in Action Winners; and

17 LC 114 0071

22 WHEREAS, Anders Austinson of Decatur County, Ben Hancock of Irwin County, Carrianna

- 23 Simmons of Spalding County, Hannah Moseley of Bleckley County, and Amelia Day of
- 24 Houston County were named state winners in the 2016 Dean's Awards competition; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Becca Velasquez of Effingham County was declared 2016 National STEM
- 26 Youth Ambassador; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Lance Ricketson, Jordan Davis, Blakely Tanner, and Brice Grantham of Coffee
- 28 County were declared 2016 National 4-H Shooting Sports, First Place in Shotgun
- 29 Champions; and
- 30 WHEREAS, Brice Grantham of Coffee County was named 2016 Sporting Clays National
- 31 High Individual and Overall National High Individual.
- 32 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 33 the members of this body recognize February 8, 2017, as 4-H Day at the state capitol and
- 34 commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H
- 35 Program; Mr. James Hancock, State 4-H Club President; Mr. Arch D. Smith, Director and
- 36 State 4-H Leader; and each of the 2016-2017 4-H district presidents, 2016 Dean's Awards
- winners, 2016 National 4-H Conference delegates, 2016 Leadership in Action winners, 2016
- 38 National 4-H Shooting Sports Shotgun Team champions, and 2016 National Sporting Clays
- 39 High Individual and Overall National High Individual winners for their numerous
- 40 accomplishments and for the leadership they have demonstrated.
- 41 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 42 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 43 University of Georgia Cooperative Extension.