^{115TH CONGRESS} 1ST SESSION S. RES. 193

U.S. GOVERNMENT INFORMATION

> Commending the bravery of the United States Capitol Police, the Police Department of Alexandria, Virginia, and all first responders who protected Members of Congress, their staff, and others during the shooting on June 14, 2017, at Eugene Simpson Stadium Park in the Del Ray neighborhood of Alexandria, Virginia.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

JUNE 15, 2017

Mr. KAINE (for himself, Mr. WARNER, Mr. MCCONNELL, Mr. SCHUMER, Mr. ALEXANDER, MS. BALDWIN, Mr. BARRASSO, Mr. BENNET, Mr. BLUMENTHAL, Mr. BLUNT, Mr. BOOKER, Mr. BOOZMAN, Mr. BROWN, Mr. BURR, Ms. CANTWELL, Mrs. CAPITO, Mr. CARDIN, Mr. CARPER, Mr. CASEY, Mr. CASSIDY, Mr. COCHRAN, Ms. COLLINS, Mr. COONS, Mr. CORKER, Mr. CORNYN, Ms. CORTEZ MASTO, Mr. COTTON, Mr. CRAPO, Mr. CRUZ, Mr. DAINES, Mr. DONNELLY, Ms. DUCKWORTH, Mr. DURBIN, Mr. Enzi, Mrs. Ernst, Mrs. Feinstein, Mrs. Fischer, Mr. Flake, Mr. FRANKEN, Mr. GARDNER, Mrs. GILLIBRAND, Mr. GRAHAM, Mr. GRASSLEY, MS. HARRIS, MS. HASSAN, Mr. HATCH, Mr. HEINRICH, MS. HEITKAMP, Mr. HELLER, Ms. HIRONO, Mr. HOEVEN, Mr. INHOFE, Mr. ISAKSON, Mr. JOHNSON, Mr. KENNEDY, Mr. KING, Ms. KLOBUCHAR, Mr. Lankford, Mr. Leahy, Mr. Lee, Mr. Manchin, Mr. Markey, Mr. MCCAIN, Mrs. MCCASKILL, Mr. MENENDEZ, Mr. MERKLEY, Mr. MORAN, Ms. Murkowski, Mr. Murphy, Mrs. Murray, Mr. Nelson, Mr. Paul, Mr. Perdue, Mr. Peters, Mr. Portman, Mr. Reed, Mr. Risch, Mr. ROBERTS, Mr. ROUNDS, Mr. RUBIO, Mr. SANDERS, Mr. SASSE, Mr. SCHATZ, Mr. SCOTT, Mrs. SHAHEEN, Mr. SHELBY, Ms. STABENOW, Mr. STRANGE, Mr. SULLIVAN, Mr. TESTER, Mr. THUNE, Mr. TILLIS, Mr. TOOMEY, Mr. UDALL, Mr. VAN HOLLEN, Ms. WARREN, Mr. WHITE-HOUSE, Mr. WICKER, Mr. WYDEN, and Mr. YOUNG) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

Commending the bravery of the United States Capitol Police,

the Police Department of Alexandria, Virginia, and all first responders who protected Members of Congress, their staff, and others during the shooting on June 14, 2017, at Eugene Simpson Stadium Park in the Del Ray neighborhood of Alexandria, Virginia.

1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—

2 (1) recognizes the heroism of United States 3 Capitol Police Special Agents David Bailey and 4 Crystal Griner, both of whom sustained injuries, and 5 Henry Cabrera, after responding to, containing, and 6 ultimately ending the threat to Members of Con-7 gress, their staff, and others during the shooting at 8 Eugene Simpson Stadium Park in Alexandria, Vir-9 ginia, on the morning of June 14, 2017;

10 (2) recognizes the Police Department, the Of-11 fice of the Sheriff, and the Fire Department of Alex-12 andria, Virginia, who reported to the scene without 13 hesitation, and the first responders who treated the 14 wounded;

(3) recognizes the additional victims who survived the shooting and supports their continued recovery from physical and psychological wounds, including—

19 (A) Steve Scalise, the Majority Whip of the20 House of Representatives;

1	(B) Zachary Barth, a staffer for Rep-
2	resentative Roger Williams; and
3	(C) Matthew Mika, a former legislative
4	staffer;
5	(4) offers sympathy and support to the families
6	and friends of the survivors;
7	(5) recognizes that threats to Members of Con-
8	gress also operate to threaten the foundations of our
9	representative democracy; and
10	(6) recognizes the United States Capitol Po-
11	lice—
12	(A) who protect Members of Congress and
13	employees, visitors, and facilities of Congress;
14	and
15	(B) whose professionalism, vigilance, and
16	self-sacrifice is a daily example of the steadfast
17	patriotism that civil servants should strive for
18	in service to one another and to the United
19	States.

 \bigcirc