

## 2020 South Dakota Legislature House Bill 1021

Introduced by: The Committee on Commerce and Energy at the request of the Department of Revenue

## 1 An Act to revise certain provisions regarding the South Dakota Lottery Commission.

- 2 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- 3 Section 1. That § 42-7A-17 be AMENDED:

## 4 42-7A-17. Lottery Commission created--Appointment of members--Term of 5 office--Qualifications--Chair.

6 There is created the South Dakota Lottery Commission, which shall be is composed 7 of seven-five members who shall be appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the 8 senate. The term of office shall be is three years, expiring on January first with no more 9 than three two appointments expiring in any one year. No member may be appointed to 10 more than two consecutive terms. Each member of the commission shall be a citizen of the United States and a resident of this state, not all of whom may be of the same political 11 12 party. A-chairman chair of the commission shall be chosen annually from the membership 13 of the commission by a majority of its commission members at the first meeting of the commission each fiscal year. 14