HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 5

By: Delegate Conaway

Introduced and read first time: February 6, 2017 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

Extension of Statutes of Limitations Under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

FOR the purpose of urging the Congress of the United States of America to extend certain
statutes of limitations under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; and generally
relating to the extension of certain statutes of limitations.

7 WHEREAS, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, provides that an 8 individual may file a written claim of discrimination with the Equal Employment 9 Opportunity Commission only within 180 calendar days from the day a discriminatory act 10 took place, subject to an extension to 300 calendar days if a state or local agency enforces a 11 law that prohibits employment discrimination on the same basis; and

12 WHEREAS, Title VII authorizes an individual to file a lawsuit alleging 13 discrimination only within 90 days of receipt of a Notice–of–Right–to–Sue letter; and

WHEREAS, These brief filing periods may have a significant impact on the possible claims of employees unfamiliar with these limitations periods and their ability to seek redress for discriminatory actions; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the General 18 Assembly of Maryland urges the Congress of the United States to extend the time periods 19 within which an individual may file a charge of discrimination with the Equal Employment 20 Opportunity Commission and within which an individual may file a lawsuit alleging 21 discrimination following receipt of a Notice-of-Right-to-Sue letter; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Benjamin L. Cardin and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Andrew P. Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Anthony G. Brown, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, John Delaney, Elijah E. Cummings, and Jamie Raskin, House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.



7lr3061