1 ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 1780 By: Treat of the Senate 2 and 3 Osburn of the House 4 5 6 [state government - Oklahoma Merit Protection Commission - sunset date - effective date -7 emergency] 8 9 10 BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA: AMENDATORY 11 SECTION 1. 74 O.S. 2011, Section 840-1.7, is 12 amended to read as follows: 13 Section 840-1.7. A. There is hereby created until July 1, 2021, the Oklahoma Merit Protection Commission. Whenever the terms 14 "Ethics and Merit Commission" or "Special Counsel of the Ethics and 15 Merit Commission" appear in the Oklahoma Statutes, they shall mean 16 17 the Oklahoma Merit Protection Commission or the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Merit Protection Commission as may be appropriate to 18 the context in which they appear. The Oklahoma Merit Protection 19 20 Commission shall consist of nine (9) members who shall be appointed for a term of three (3) years. The members shall be removable only 21 for cause, as provided by law for the removal of officers not 22 subject to impeachment. Two members of the Commission shall be 23 appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Two members 24

ENGR. S. B. NO. 1780

Page 1

1 of the Commission shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Five members of the Commission shall be appointed 2 3 by the Governor. No more than four of the appointments made by the Governor shall be from the same political party. Of the initial 4 5 appointments made to the Commission, one member appointed by the President Pro Tempore, one member appointed by the Speaker and one 6 7 member appointed by the Governor shall be for a term of three (3) years; and one member appointed by the President Pro Tempore, one 8 9 member appointed by the Speaker and one member appointed by the 10 Governor shall be for a term of two (2) years. The remaining three 11 initial appointments by the Governor shall be designated to serve a 12 term of one (1) year. At the expiration of the initial term, each new appointee shall serve a three-year term. All initial 13 appointments shall be made prior to July 1, 1982. 14

B. Members of the Commission shall be entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as provided in the State Travel Reimbursement Act.

C. The Commission shall elect a chairman chair, to serve a twoyear term and such other officers as deemed necessary for the performance of their duties. The Commission shall hold regular meetings not less than once a month and such additional meetings as called by the chairman chair as may be required for the proper discharge of its duties.

24 SECTION 2. This act shall become effective July 1, 2020.

ENGR. S. B. NO. 1780

Page 2

1	SECTION 3. It being immediately necessary for the preservation
2	of the public peace, health or safety, an emergency is hereby
3	declared to exist, by reason whereof this act shall take effect and
4	be in full force from and after its passage and approval.
5	Passed the Senate the 11th day of March, 2020.
6	
7	Presiding Officer of the Senate
8	
9	Passed the House of Representatives the day of,
10	2020.
11	
12	Presiding Officer of the House
13	of Representatives
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	