No. R-161. House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2016 Champlain Valley Union High School Redhawks on winning their school's eighth consecutive Division I girls' cross-country championship.

## (H.C.R.126)

Offered by: Representatives Yantachka of Charlotte, Brumsted of Shelburne, Lippert of Hinesburg, Macaig of Williston, McCullough of Williston, and Webb of Shelburne

Offered by: Senators Ingram and Lyons

<u>Whereas</u>, the Champlain Valley Union High School girls' cross-country program began the 2016 season as the owner of the past seven Division I championships, and this year's team wish to extend this record, and

<u>Whereas</u>, four of the top ten runners in the decisive State championship race, run on the Thetford Academy course, wore the Redhawks' uniform as CVU out-paced second place Mt. Mansfield 26–89 and clinched the school's eighth consecutive Division I crown, and the team continued on to win the 2016 New England championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Redhawks runners who clinched the Division I title were Sophia Gorman, Ella Whitman, Jennifer Ireland, Rosalie LaCroix, Willow Bertrand, Meara Heininger, and Chloe Andrae, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Scott Bliss and assistant coaches Cari Causey, Cory Coffey, and Justin Newton served as outstanding advisors for the runners, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2016 Champlain Valley Union High School Redhawks Division I championship girls' cross-country running team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Champlain Valley Union High School.