

2020 South Dakota Legislature

House Commemoration 8014

Introduced by: **Representatives** Dennert, Gosch, Lana Greenfield, McCleerey, Perry, and Weis and **Senators** Novstrup and Brock Greenfield

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Congratulating and honoring the Aberdeen 1 2 Wings for an excellent season and a victorious performance in the 2019 3 Robertson Cup Championship. WHEREAS, the Aberdeen Wings captured their first-ever North American Hockey League Robertson 4 5 Cup National Championship with a 2-1 win over the Fairbanks Ice Dogs at Fogerty Arena in Blaine, 6 Minnesota; and 7 WHEREAS, Jonathan Bendorf, John Sladic, Matt Vernon were named to the 2019 NAHL 8 Robertson Cup All-Tournament Team and Matt Vernon was named as Most Valuable Player; 9 and 10 WHEREAS, the program received superior coaching and outstanding leadership from coach Scott 11 Langer; and WHEREAS, the Robertson Cup is awarded to the national playoff champion of the North 12 13 American Hockey League (NAHL) and is the oldest junior hockey trophy in the United States: 14 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State 15 of South Dakota, that the Legislature honors and congratulates the Aberdeen Wings for their

outstanding season and for winning the Robertson Cup Championship.

16