# <sup>117TH CONGRESS</sup> 2D SESSION H. RES. 1220

U.S. GOVERNMENT INFORMATION

> Expressing support for the designation of Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition Day.

#### IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### JULY 7, 2022

Ms. SÁNCHEZ (for herself, Mr. MCKINLEY, Mr. NORCROSS, Mrs. LEE of Nevada, Mr. SUOZZI, Ms. SCHAKOWSKY, Mr. CONNOLLY, Ms. STRICKLAND, Mr. HIGGINS of New York, Mrs. DINGELL, Mr. CÁRDENAS, Ms. GARCIA of Texas, Mr. Rush, Ms. Norton, Mr. Vicente Gonzalez of Texas, Mr. Gomez, Mr. Gallego, Ms. Tlaib, Ms. Kuster, Ms. Barragán, Mr. VARGAS, Mr. KILDEE, Mr. O'HALLERAN, Mr. LARSEN of Washington, Mr. Tonko, Mr. Casten, Mr. Fitzpatrick, Ms. Slotkin, Mr. GARCÍA OF Illinois, Ms. LOFGREN, Ms. DEAN, Ms. TITUS, Ms. DEGETTE, Ms. VELÁZQUEZ, Mr. CARBAJAL, Mr. TRONE, Ms. BASS, Mr. ROGERS of Alabama, Mrs. Axne, Mr. PANETTA, Ms. BROWNLEY, Mr. KEATING, Mr. Schrader, Mr. Himes, Mr. Morelle, Mrs. Napolitano, Mr. McNer-NEY, Mrs. CHERFILUS-MCCORMICK, Mr. COSTA, Ms. WILLIAMS of Georgia, Mr. BISHOP of Georgia, Mr. BUTTERFIELD, Ms. CONWAY, Mr. KRISHNAMOORTHI, Mr. LAWSON of Florida, Mr. VALADAO, Mr. GARAMENDI, MS. CRAIG, Mr. SOTO, Mr. CORREA, Mr. RUIZ, Mr. RUP-PERSBERGER, Mr. NORMAN, Mr. AMODEI, Ms. LEE of California, Ms. MENG, Ms. STEVENS, Mrs. HAYES, Mr. RASKIN, Mrs. LAWRENCE, Mr. GUEST, Ms. DELBENE, Mr. BROWN of Maryland, Ms. ADAMS, Mr. BLU-MENAUER, Mrs. DEMINGS, Mrs. CAROLYN B. MALONEY of New York, Miss RICE of New York, Mr. DANNY K. DAVIS of Illinois, Ms. WEXTON, Mr. CROW, Ms. CHENEY, Ms. SPANBERGER, Mr. PALLONE, Ms. NEW-MAN, Mr. POCAN, Ms. KAPTUR, Ms. SCANLON, Mr. PETERS, Mr. ESPAILLAT, Mr. STANTON, Mr. GRIJALVA, Ms. SEWELL, Mr. MCEACHIN, Ms. Jackson Lee, Mrs. Bustos, Mr. Aderholt, Mr. Phillips, Ms. LETLOW, Mr. CICILLINE, Mr. SMITH of Washington, Mr. LOWENTHAL, Mr. KIM of New Jersey, Mr. DEFAZIO, Ms. CLARK of Massachusetts, Mrs. Trahan, Mr. Malinowski, Mr. Sarbanes, Mr. Stauber, Ms. MCCOLLUM, Ms. WILD, Mr. MICHAEL F. DOYLE of Pennsylvania, Mr. DAVID SCOTT of Georgia, Mr. LAMB, Mr. TORRES of New York, Ms. LEGER FERNANDEZ, Mr. LEVIN of Michigan, Ms. BONAMICI, Mr. Loudermilk, Mr. Gottheimer, Mr. Moore of Alabama, Ms. Eshoo, Ms. Escobar, Mr. Kind, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. DeSaulnier, Ms. BROWN of Ohio, Mr. GOLDEN, Mr. CARL, Mr. PAPPAS, Mr. CARTER of

Georgia, Mr. COHEN, Mr. SWALWELL, Ms. SHERRILL, Mr. NEAL, Mr. KILMER, Mr. SCOTT of Virginia, and Ms. WILSON of Florida) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Energy and Commerce

## RESOLUTION

### Expressing support for the designation of Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition Day.

- Whereas journeyman lineworkers provide a vital service on a daily basis;
- Whereas journeyman lineworkers put their lives on the line every day to assure safe and reliable power for the American people;
- Whereas journeyman lineworkers work at heights and in close proximity to energized electric lines;
- Whereas journeyman lineworkers continue to provide valuable and heroic services during major national and regional disasters such as hurricanes, wildfires, tornadoes, and pandemics, along with working extremely long hours under dangerous conditions to restore power;
- Whereas Henry Miller, the first elected president of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, was killed on July 10, 1896, at just 38 years old;
- Whereas Henry Miller died of injuries sustained while troubleshooting an electrical outage; and
- Whereas there should be a day to honor those industry first responders who have given their lives in the line of duty along with those who provide skillful service in times of local or national crisis: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives— 1 2 (1) supports the designation of Journeyman 3 Lineworkers Recognition Day; 4 (2) honors and recognizes the contributions of the countless individuals who often place themselves 5 in harm's way to serve their communities; and 6 7 (3) encourages the people of the United States to observe Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition 8 Day with appropriate reflection. 9

0