

118TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION H. RES. 580

Expressing support for the designation of Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition Day.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

July 11, 2023

Ms. SÁNCHEZ (for herself, Mr. NORCROSS, Mr. FITZPATRICK, Ms. NORTON, Mr. Vasquez, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Carbajal, Mr. Connolly, Ms. WILLIAMS of Georgia, Mr. Blumenauer, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Pocan, Mrs. MILLER of West Virginia, Ms. Lee of Nevada, Ms. Wilson of Florida, Mrs. Chavez-Deremer, Ms. Scholten, Ms. Brownley, Mr. Morelle, Mr. Bishop of Georgia, Ms. Sewell, Mrs. Trahan, Mr. GOMEZ, Ms. DELBENE, Mr. JOHNSON of Ohio, Mr. DAVIS of North Carolina, Ms. Spanberger, Ms. Barragán, Mr. Mullin, Mr. Moskowitz, Ms. Bonamici, Mr. Veasey, Mr. Stanton, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Ms. Schakowsky, Ms. Lee of California, Mr. Levin, Mrs. DINGELL, Mr. PETERS, Mr. CARSON, Mr. GOLDEN of Maine, Ms. BUDZINSKI, Ms. TITUS, Mr. RESCHENTHALER, Mr. GARAMENDI, Mr. TRONE, Mr. SARBANES, Mr. LARSEN of Washington, Mr. VARGAS, Mr. Allred, Mr. Horsford, Mr. Higgins of New York, Ms. Ocasio-Cor-TEZ, Mr. LYNCH, Ms. JACOBS, Mr. SCHIFF, Mr. BOYLE of Pennsylvania, Mr. Robert Garcia of California, Ms. Wild, Ms. Moore of Wisconsin, Mr. Bucshon, Mr. Amodei, Mr. Van Orden, Mr. Gottheimer, Mr. MFUME, Mr. Ruiz, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Deluzio, Mrs. GONZÁLEZ-COLÓN, Ms. HOYLE of Oregon, Ms. KAPTUR, Ms. STANSBURY, Ms. WASSERMAN SCHULTZ, Mr. RYAN, Mr. BERGMAN, Mr. Jackson of Illinois, Ms. Clarke of New York, Mr. Costa, Mr. SORENSEN, Ms. LOFGREN, Ms. SCANLON, Mr. NUNN of Iowa, Ms. WEXTON, Mr. MOYLAN, Mrs. MILLER-MEEKS, Mr. MAGAZINER, Mrs. McBath, Mr. Ezell, Mr. Evans, Ms. Kamlager-Dove, Mr. HUIZENGA, Mr. GARCÍA of Illinois, Ms. PORTER, Mr. SCOTT of Virginia, Ms. Dean of Pennsylvania, Mr. Cartwright, Mr. Landsman, Mr. PAYNE, Ms. STRICKLAND, Mrs. BEATTY, Mr. FOSTER, Mr. LAWLER, Ms. Tokuda, Mr. Thompson of Mississippi, Mr. Feenstra, Mr. Smith of New Jersey, Ms. Meng, Mr. Edwards, Ms. Blunt Rochester, Mr. McGovern, Ms. Kuster, Mr. Garbarino, Ms. Caraveo, Mr. Soto, Mr. Lamalfa, Ms. Velázquez, Mr. Vicente Gonzalez of Texas, Ms. Ross, Mr. Torres of New York, Mr. Thompson of Pennsylvania, Mr. BERA, Mr. McGarvey, Mr. Crow, Mr. Bost, Mr. Bowman, Mr.

CÁRDENAS, Mr. SWALWELL, Ms. PEREZ, Mrs. FOUSHEE, Mr. NEAL, Ms. LEE of Pennsylvania, Mr. NICKEL, Mr. DAVIS of Illinois, Mr. ARM-STRONG, and Mr. GRIJALVA) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Energy and Commerce

RESOLUTION

Expressing support for the designation of Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition Day.

- Whereas journeyman lineworkers provide a vital service on a daily basis;
- Whereas journeyman lineworkers put their lives on the line every day to assure safe and reliable power for the American people;
- Whereas journeyman lineworkers work at heights and in close proximity to energized electric lines;
- Whereas journeyman lineworkers continue to provide valuable and heroic services during major national and regional disasters such as hurricanes, wildfires, tornadoes, and pandemics, along with working extremely long hours under dangerous conditions to restore power;
- Whereas Henry Miller, the first elected president of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, was killed on July 10, 1896, at just 38 years old;
- Whereas Henry Miller died of injuries sustained while troubleshooting an electrical outage; and
- Whereas there should be a day to honor those industry first responders who have given their lives in the line of duty along with those who provide skillful service in times of local or national crisis: Now, therefore, be it

1	Resolved, That the House of Representatives—
2	(1) supports the designation of Journeyman
3	Lineworkers Recognition Day;
4	(2) honors and recognizes the contributions of
5	the countless individuals who often place themselves
6	in harm's way to serve their communities; and
7	(3) encourages the people of the United States
8	to observe Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition
9	Day with appropriate reflection.

 \bigcirc