67th Legislature HB 380.2

1	HOUSE BILL NO. 380
2	INTRODUCED BY K. SEEKINS-CROWE, D. ANKNEY, B. BROWN, C. FRIEDEL, C. GLIMM, S. HINEBAUCH
3	D. HOWARD, D. KARY, T. MANZELLA, T. MCGILLVRAY, B. MOLNAR, C. SMITH, D. BARTEL, L.
4	BREWSTER, N. DURAM, P. FIELDER, F. FLEMING, J. FULLER, S. GALLOWAY, S. GIST, S. GUNDERSON
5	E. HILL, J. HINKLE, C. HINKLE, R. KNUDSEN, D. LENZ, B. LER, B. MERCER, B. MITCHELL, T. MOORE, F
6	NAVE, J. PATELIS, J. READ, A. REGIER, V. RICCI, D. SKEES, M. STROMSWOLD, B. TSCHIDA, B. USHEF
7	S. VINTON, K. ZOLNIKOV
8	
9	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT REQUIRING SENATE CONFIRMATION FOR CERTAIN
10	MEMBERS OF THE JUDICIAL STANDARDS COMMISSION; AND AMENDING SECTION 3-1-1101, MCA."
11	
12	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
13	
14	Section 1. Section 3-1-1101, MCA, is amended to read:
15	"3-1-1101. Creation and composition of commission. There is created a judicial standards
16	commission consisting of five members as follows:
17	(1) two district court judges from different judicial districts, elected by the district judges under an
18	elective procedure initiated by and conducted by the supreme court, and their. THE election must be certified by
19	the chief justice of the supreme court, which for the purpose of this part is considered as an appointment.
20	AFTER THE CHIEF JUSTICE CERTIFIES THE ELECTION, EACH JUDGE MUST BE CONFIRMED BY THE SENATE.;
21	(2) one attorney who has practiced law in this state for at least 10 years, appointed by the supreme
22	court AND CONFIRMED BY THE SENATE; and
23	(3) two citizens who are not attorneys or judges of any court, active or retired, appointed by the
24	governor and confirmed by the senate."
25	- END -

