116TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION H. J. RES. 38

U.S. GOVERNMENT INFORMATION

Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

JANUARY 30, 2019

Ms. Speier (for herself, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Mr. FITZPATRICK, Mr. REED, Mrs. LURIA, Ms. SPANBERGER, Ms. WEXTON, Mrs. Lawrence, Mr. Grijalva, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mr. Heck, Ms. JUDY CHU of California, Mr. CONNOLLY, Ms. PLASKETT, Mr. CARBAJAL, Ms. SCHAKOWSKY, Mr. PETERS, Mr. TAKANO, Mr. COHEN, Ms. NORTON, Mr. RUIZ, Miss RICE of New York, Ms. FRANKEL, Mr. MCNERNEY, Ms. DELBENE, Mr. FOSTER, Mr. ENGEL, Mr. AGUILAR, Ms. LEE of California, Ms. DELAURO, Mr. KHANNA, Ms. KAPTUR, Mr. POCAN, MS. MATSUI, Mr. ESPAILLAT, Ms. DEGETTE, Mr. RICHMOND, Ms. BROWNLEY of California, Mr. RUPPERSBERGER, Mr. MOULTON, Mr. COOPER, Mr. DEFAZIO, Mr. THOMPSON of Mississippi, Mr. SERRANO, Mr. HASTINGS, Mr. LOWENTHAL, Mr. SARBANES, Mrs. TORRES of California, Mr. Cartwright, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Schrader, Mr. Cummings, Mr. WELCH, Mr. PRICE of North Carolina, Mr. CRIST, Mr. MICHAEL F. DOYLE of Pennsylvania, Ms. ROYBAL-ALLARD, Mr. YARMUTH, Mr. TONKO, MS. CLARKE of New York, Ms. PINGREE, Mr. HORSFORD, Mrs. DAVIS of California, Ms. CASTOR of Florida, Mr. LANGEVIN, Mr. THOMP-SON of California, Mr. SCHIFF, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Beyer, Mr. CICILLINE, Mr. LOEBSACK, Ms. GABBARD, Mr. SWALWELL of California, Mr. HUFFMAN, Mr. GARAMENDI, Mr. SEAN PATRICK MALONEY of New York, Mr. Soto, Mr. Sires, Mr. Keating, Ms. Blunt Rochester, Ms. KUSTER of New Hampshire, Ms. JAYAPAL, Ms. WILSON of Florida, Mr. KILMER, Mr. MEEKS, Mr. CLAY, Ms. HILL of California, Ms. BONAMICI, Ms. WATERS, Mrs. KIRKPATRICK, Mr. LYNCH, Mrs. DINGELL, Mr. SCHNEIDER, Ms. PRESSLEY, Ms. JACKSON LEE, Ms. BARRAGÁN, Mrs. NAPOLITANO, Mr. JOHNSON of Georgia, Mrs. WATSON COLEMAN, Mr. LEVIN of Michigan, Ms. OCASIO-CORTEZ, Mr. CARSON of Indiana, Mr. KIND, Ms. ESHOO, Mr. KILDEE, Mr. COX of California, Mr. GALLEGO, Ms. CLARK of Massachusetts, Ms. FUDGE, Mr. SHERMAN, Mr. BLU-MENAUER, Mr. QUIGLEY, Mr. KRISHNAMOORTHI, Mr. NORCROSS, Mr. COURTNEY, Mr. LAWSON of Florida, Mr. PASCRELL, Mr. PALLONE, Mr. Cárdenas, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Raskin, Ms. Omar, Ms. Sánchez, Mr. PERLMUTTER, Ms. TITUS, Mrs. TRAHAN, Mr. LEVIN of California, Mr. HIMES, MS. SCHRIER, Mrs. LOWEY, Mr. LARSEN of Washington, Mr. BRENDAN F. BOYLE of Pennsylvania, Ms. ADAMS, Mr. CASE, Ms. ESCOBAR, Mr. TED LIEU of California, Ms. PORTER, Mrs. BUSTOS, Ms. SLOTKIN, Mr. GARCÍA of Illinois, Ms. GARCIA of Texas, and Mr. RUSH) submitted the following joint resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

JOINT RESOLUTION

Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.

1 Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled (two-2 3 thirds of each House concurring therein), That notwith-4 standing any time limit contained in House Joint Resolution 208, 92nd Congress, as agreed to in the Senate on 5 6 March 22, 1972, the article of amendment proposed to the States in that joint resolution shall be valid to all in-7 tents and purposes as part of the Constitution whenever 8 9 ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several 10 States.

 \bigcirc