HOUSE BILL 872

E3 0 lr 2597 CF SB 467

By: Delegates Crutchfield, Acevero, Bartlett, D.M. Davis, Griffith, Lopez, Shetty, Valentino-Smith, R. Watson, and Williams

Introduced and read first time: February 3, 2020

Assigned to: Judiciary

Committee Report: Favorable

House action: Adopted

Read second time: March 3, 2020

CHAPTER _____

- 1 AN ACT concerning
- 2 State Advisory Board for Juvenile Services Membership
- 3 FOR the purpose of expanding the membership of the State Advisory Board for Juvenile
- 4 Services; and generally relating to the State Advisory Board for Juvenile Services.
- 5 BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,
- 6 Article Human Services
- 7 Section 9–101
- 8 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 9 (2019 Replacement Volume and 2019 Supplement)
- 10 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments.
- 11 Article Human Services
- 12 Section 9–212
- 13 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 14 (2019 Replacement Volume and 2019 Supplement)
- 15 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
- 16 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
 - Article Human Services
- 18 9–101.

17

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



26

with minors and juvenile problems;

HOUSE BILL 872

1 In this title the following words have the meanings indicated. (a) 2 "Department" means the Department of Juvenile Services. (b) "Secretary" means the Secretary of Juvenile Services. 3 (c) "State Advisory Board" means the State Advisory Board for Juvenile Services. 4 (d) 9-212. 5 6 The State Advisory Board consists of the following [21] members appointed (a) 7 by the Governor: 8 one representative of the Department; (1) 9 one representative of the State Department of Education; (2) 10 (3)one representative of the Maryland Department of Health; 11 **(4)** one representative of the Department of State Police: 12 one representative of the Social Services Administration of the (5)Department of Human Services; 13 14 (6) one representative of a private child welfare agency: 15 (7)one representative of a youth services bureau; three representatives of the State judiciary; 16 (8)17 one representative of the General Assembly recommended by the (9)18 President of the Senate: 19 one representative of the General Assembly recommended by the (10)Speaker of the House; 2021one representative of the Maryland State's Attorneys' Association; (11)22 (12)one representative of the Maryland Office of the Public Defender; and 23 (13)seven NINE members of the general public. 24(b) Of the [seven] NINE members from the general public: 25three shall be chosen on the basis of their interest in and experience

1	(2) two shall:
2 3	(i) at the time of appointment to a first term, be at least 16 years old and under the age of 25 years; and
4 5	(ii) include at least one individual who has been under the jurisdiction of the Department;
6 7	(3) one shall be an individual who is a parent or guardian of a youth who has been under the jurisdiction of the Department; [and]
8	(4) one shall be a victim advocate; AND
9 10 11	(5) TWO SHALL BE EMPLOYEES OF THE DEPARTMENT WITH DIFFERENT JOB TITLES, RECOMMENDED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY, AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, COUNCIL 3.
12	(c) (1) The term of a member is 3 years.
13 14	(2) The terms of the members are staggered as required by the terms provided for members of the State Advisory Board on October 1, 2007.
15 16	(3) At the end of a term, a member continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies.
17 18	(4) A member who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.
19 20	(5) A member who serves two consecutive full 3-year terms may not be reappointed for 3 years after completion of those terms.
21 22	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2020.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.