HOUSE BILL 1473

P1, F2

0lr1894

By: **Delegates Hill, Qi, and Johnson** Introduced and read first time: February 7, 2020 Assigned to: Economic Matters

A BILL ENTITLED

1 AN ACT concerning

Workgroup on Establishing a Science and Technology Best Practices and Innovation Network

4 FOR the purpose of establishing the Workgroup on Establishing a Science and Technology $\mathbf{5}$ Best Practices and Innovation Network; providing for the composition, chair, and 6 staffing of the Workgroup; prohibiting a member of the Workgroup from receiving 7 certain compensation, but authorizing the reimbursement of certain expenses; 8 requiring the Workgroup to study and make recommendations regarding certain 9 matters; requiring the Workgroup to report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly on or before a certain date; providing for the 10 11 termination of this Act; and generally relating to the Workgroup on Establishing a 12Science and Technology Best Practices and Innovation Network.

13 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, 14 That:

15 (a) There is a Workgroup on Establishing a Science and Technology Best 16 Practices and Innovation Network.

- 17 (b) The Workgroup consists of the following members:
- 18 (1) one member of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of19 the Senate;
- 20 (2) one member of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the
- 21 House;
- 22 (3) the Secretary of the Environment, or the Secretary's designee;
- 23 (4) the Secretary of Transportation, or the Secretary's designee;

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



	2 HOUSE BILL 1473				
1	(5) the Secretary of Higher Education, or the Secretary's designee;				
2	(6) the Secretary of Energy, or the Secretary's designee;				
3	(7) the Secretary of Commerce, or the Secretary's designee;				
4	(8) the Secretary of Agriculture, or the Secretary's designee;				
5 6	(9) the Executive Director of the Maryland Health Care Commission, or the Executive Director's designee;				
7 8	(10) the Executive Director of the Maryland Technology Development Corporation, or the Executive Director's designee;				
9	(11) three representatives of the University System of Maryland, including:				
10 11	(i) one representative designated by the Chancellor of the University System of Maryland;				
12 13	(ii) one representative designated by the President of the University of Maryland Baltimore County; and				
$\begin{array}{c} 14 \\ 15 \end{array}$	(iii) one representative designated by the President of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science;				
$\begin{array}{c} 16 \\ 17 \end{array}$	(12) one representative of Morgan State University, designated by the President of Morgan State University;				
18 19	(13) one representative of St. Mary's College of Maryland, designated by the President of St. Mary's College of Maryland;				
$\begin{array}{c} 20\\ 21 \end{array}$	(14) one representative of the Maryland Independent College and University Association (MICUA), designated by the President of MICUA;				
$\begin{array}{c} 22\\ 23 \end{array}$	(15) the Executive Director of the Maryland Education Development Collaborative, or the Executive Director's designee;				
$\frac{24}{25}$	(16) the Executive Director of the Maryland Association of Community Colleges, or the Executive Director's designee; and				
26	(17) the following members, appointed by the Governor:				
$\begin{array}{c} 27\\ 28 \end{array}$	(i) two individuals from the private sector with expertise in current developments in science;				
$\begin{array}{c} 29\\ 30 \end{array}$	(ii) two individuals from the private sector with expertise in current developments in technology; and				

HOUSE BILL 1473

$\frac{1}{2}$	developmen	(iii) ts in industry	two individuals from the private sector with expertise in current y.	
3	(c)	The Workgr	oup shall elect a chair from among its members.	
4 5	(d) Workgroup.	The Univer	sity of Maryland Baltimore County shall provide staff for the	
6	(e)	A member o	of the Workgroup:	
7		(1) may 1	not receive compensation as a member of the Workgroup; but	
8 9	(2) is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard State Travel Regulations, as provided in the State budget.			
10	(f)	The Workgr	oup shall:	
$\frac{11}{12}$	(1) identify and analyze options for establishing and maintaining a network of experts in science, technology, and industry to:			
13		(i)	facilitate voluntary collaboration;	
1415	evidence-ba	(ii) sed data and	facilitate the open exchange of state–of–the–art and information;	
16		(iii)	inform State policy and practices; and	
$\begin{array}{c} 17\\ 18 \end{array}$	sound science	(iv) ce, innovation	promote solution development and decision making based on n, and best practices;	
19		(2) ident	ify and evaluate methods for:	
$\begin{array}{c} 20\\ 21 \end{array}$	science, tech	(i) inology, and i	establishing a digital or virtual referral network of experts in industry;	
22		(ii)	registering expert participants; and	
23		(iii)	making network expertise available to the public;	
24 25	in science, to		ine the costs of developing and maintaining a network of experts ad industry; and	
$\frac{26}{27}$	technology b	. ,	e recommendations regarding the establishment of a science and and innovation network.	
28	(g)	On or befor	e December 1, 2020, the Workgroup shall report its findings and	

HOUSE BILL 1473

recommendations to the Governor and, in accordance with § 2–1257 of the State
 Government Article, the General Assembly.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July
1, 2020. It shall remain effective for a period of 1 year and, at the end of June 30, 2021, this
Act, with no further action required by the General Assembly, shall be abrogated and of no

6 further force and effect.

4