

116TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

H. RES. 1001

Recognizing June 19, 2020, as this year's observance of the historical significance of Juneteenth Independence Day.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

June 15, 2020

Ms. Jackson Lee (for herself, Mr. Lewis, Ms. Sewell of Alabama, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Ms. Moore, Mr. Bishop of Georgia, Ms. Wilson of Florida, Ms. Kelly of Illinois, Ms. Norton, Mr. McEachin, Mr. THOMPSON of Mississippi, Mr. Meeks, Mrs. Beatty, Ms. Adams, Mr. Jeffries, Mr. Hastings, Mr. Butterfield, Mr. Rush, Ms. Pressley, Mrs. Watson Coleman, Mr. Veasey, Ms. Bass, Mr. Scott of Virginia, Mr. Danny K. Davis of Illinois, Mr. Clay, Ms. Blunt ROCHESTER, Mr. Brown of Maryland, Mrs. Hayes, Ms. Plaskett, Mrs. Demings, Ms. Fudge, Mr. Carson of Indiana, Mr. Richmond, Mr. Green of Texas, Mr. David Scott of Georgia, Ms. Lee of California, Mr. Payne, Ms. Omar, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Evans, Ms. Clarke of New York, Mr. Allred, Mr. Mfume, Mr. Neguse, Mr. Espaillat, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Horsford, Mrs. Fletcher, Mr. Connolly, Mr. GRIJALVA, Mr. WELCH, Ms. DEAN, Ms. OCASIO-CORTEZ, Ms. SCHA-KOWSKY, Mr. COX of California, Ms. ESCOBAR, Mr. KHANNA, Mr. ENGEL, Ms. TLAIB, Ms. JOHNSON of Texas, Mr. LARSEN of Washington, Mr. Thompson of California, Ms. Meng, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Neal, Mr. Bacon, Mr. Raskin, Mr. Cicilline, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Michael F. Doyle of Pennsylvania, Mr. Kildee, Ms. Matsui, Mr. Soto, Mr. GARCÍA OF Illinois, Ms. DELBENE, Mr. GONZALEZ OF Texas, Mr. PA-NETTA, Mr. KILMER, Ms. PINGREE, Ms. ROYBAL-ALLARD, Mr. PAS-CRELL, Mr. SIRES, Mr. FOSTER, Ms. CASTOR of Florida, Mr. CISNEROS, Ms. Jayapal, Ms. Mucarsel-Powell, Mr. Casten of Illinois, Mr. DEFAZIO, Mr. SCHNEIDER, Mr. NADLER, Mr. POCAN, Ms. HOULAHAN, Mr. Blumenauer, Ms. Kaptur, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Ms. DEGETTE, Mr. McNerney, Ms. Garcia of Texas, Mr. Lowenthal, Mr. Krishnamoorthi, Mr. Ruppersberger, Ms. Scanlon, Ms. Haaland, Mr. Morelle, Mr. Huffman, Mr. Malinowski, Mr. Lynch, Mr. Trone, Mrs. Bustos, Mr. Takano, Mr. Peters, Mr. Sarbanes, Ms. BARRAGÁN, Mr. RYAN, Mrs. NAPOLITANO, Ms. SHALALA, Mr. HIGGINS of New York, Mr. McGovern, Mrs. Murphy of Florida, Mr. Schrader, Mr. Quigley, Mr. Gallego, Mr. Vela, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Mr. Deutch, Ms. Velázquez, Mr. Beyer, Mr. Cooper, Mr. CARBAJAL, Mr. SEAN PATRICK MALONEY of New York, Mr. LEVIN of Michigan, Ms. Lofgren, Mr. Perlmutter, Ms. Sánchez, Mr. Harder of California, Mr. Sablan, Mr. Courtney, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Mrs. Lowey, Ms. Wild, Mr. Brendan F. Boyle of Pennsylvania, Mr. COHEN, Ms. JUDY CHU of California, Mr. STANTON, Mr. NORCROSS, Mr. HIMES, Ms. BONAMICI, Ms. KENDRA S. HORN of Oklahoma, Mr. SUOZZI, Mr. Lipinski, Ms. Davids of Kansas, Mrs. Lee of Nevada, Mr. Lan-GEVIN, Mr. GOMEZ, Mr. CROW, Mr. TONKO, Ms. UNDERWOOD, Mr. TED LIEU of California, Ms. Kuster of New Hampshire, Mr. Costa, Mrs. Torres of California, Mrs. Luria, Ms. Craig, Mrs. Axne, Mr. DESAULNIER, Ms. Brownley of California, Ms. DeLauro, Mrs. Din-GELL, Mr. KEATING, Mr. YARMUTH, Ms. ESHOO, Mr. CORREA, Ms. Gabbard, Mr. Luján, Mr. Bera, Mr. Kind, Mr. Loebsack, Mr. Lar-SON of Connecticut, Mr. Schiff, Mr. Serrano, Ms. Titus, Ms. Schrier, Mr. Gottheimer, Miss Rice of New York, Ms. Sherrill, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. Cuellar, Mrs. Davis of California, Mr. PHILLIPS, Ms. WATERS, Mr. CRIST, Ms. WEXTON, Mr. LEVIN of California, Mr. Rodney Davis of Illinois, Ms. Speier, Mr. Rouda, Ms. Frankel, Mr. Aguilar, Mr. Cárdenas, Mr. Kim, Mr. Doggett, and Mr. Peterson) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Reform

RESOLUTION

Recognizing June 19, 2020, as this year's observance of the historical significance of Juneteenth Independence Day.

Whereas news of the end of slavery did not reach frontier areas of the United States, and in particular the Southwestern States, for more than 2½ years after President Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation, which was issued on January 1, 1863, and months after the conclusion of the Civil War;

Whereas, on June 19, 1865, Union soldiers led by Major General Gordon Granger arrived in Galveston, Texas, with news that the Civil War had ended and that the enslaved were free;

Whereas African Americans who had been slaves in the Southwest celebrated June 19th, commonly known as

"Juneteenth Independence Day", as the anniversary of their emancipation;

Whereas African Americans from the Southwest continue the tradition of celebrating Juneteenth Independence Day as inspiration and encouragement for future generations;

Whereas for more than 150 years, Juneteenth Independence Day celebrations have been held to honor African-American freedom while encouraging self-development and respect for all cultures; and

Whereas the faith and strength of character demonstrated by former slaves remains an example for all people of the United States, regardless of background, religion, or race: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That—

1

2

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

- (1) the House of Representatives—
- 3 (A) recognizes the historical significance of 4 Juneteenth Independence Day to the Nation;
 - (B) supports the continued celebration of Juneteenth Independence Day to provide an opportunity for the people of the United States to learn more about the past and to better understand the experiences that have shaped the Nation; and
 - (C) encourages the people of the United States to observe Juneteenth Independence Day with appropriate ceremonies, activities, and programs; and

1	(2) it is the sense of the House of Representa-
2	tives that—
3	(A) the celebration of the end of slavery is
4	an important and enriching part of the history
5	and heritage of the United States; and
6	(B) history should be regarded as a means
7	for understanding the past and solving the chal-
8	lenges of the future.