Senate Resolution 530

By: Senators Harbin of the 16th, Albers of the 56th, Kirk of the 13th, Mullis of the 53rd and Robertson of the 29th

A RESOLUTION

1 Congratulating the winners of the Georgia Civil War Commission Art and Essay Contest;

2 and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, the Georgia Civil War Commission Art and Essay Contest has sought to 4 encourage Georgia's students to think critically about the importance of Georgia's Civil War 5 Heritage through art and essay form in an effort for students to see and understand courage, patriotism, citizenship, creativity, and loyalty; and 6

7 WHEREAS, this year's art topic prompted students to draw their artistic interpretation of Georgia's Great Locomotive Chase, and this year's essay topic was on What Happened to the 8 9 Women of Roswell and/or New Manchester Mill's Workers During the American Civil

10 War?; and

11 WHEREAS, in the art contest, Caleb Rickerson, Korin Browne, Nadia Cerdas, and Destiny

12 Armstrong each earned first place. Sara Denton, Samyak Chatterjee, Shelby Gwinn, and

13 Graham Spires each earned second place. Brycen Fleming, Mitchell Burton, a tie between

14 Zoe Schilkea and Will Parker, and Lydia Pruett each earned third place; and

15 WHEREAS, in the essay contest, Nadia Cerdas, Samuel Klemm, and Ashly Klemm each

16 earned first place. David Osborne and a three-way tie between Shelby Gwinn, Naomi

17 Thompson, and Andrew Fleming each earned second place. David King earned third place;

18 and

19 WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the exemplary accomplishments of these 20 individuals be appropriately recognized.

21 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body

22 congratulate the winners of the Georgia Civil War Commission Art and Essay Contest and

23 wish them continued academic success.

19

- 24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 25 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Caleb Rickerson,
- 26 Sara Denton, Brycen Fleming, Korin Browne, Samyak Chatterjee, Mitchell Burton, Nadia
- 27 Cerdas, Shelby Gwinn, Zoe Schilke, Will Parker, Destiny Armstrong, Graham Spires, Lydia
- 28 Pruett, David King, Andrew Fleming, Naomi Thompson, Samuel Klemm, Ashly Klemm, and
- 29 David Osborne.