## HOUSE BILL 285

By: Delegates Korman, Barron, Angel, Barkley, B. Barnes, D. Barnes, Barve, Carr, Cullison, Davis, Dumais, Fennell, Fraser-Hidalgo, Frick, Frush, Gaines, Gilchrist, Gutierrez, Healey, Hixson, Holmes, C. Howard, Jackson, Kaiser, Kelly, Knotts, Kramer, Krimm, Luedtke, A. Miller, Moon, Morales, Pena-Melnyk, Platt, Proctor, Queen, Reznik, Robinson, Sanchez, Tarlau, Valderrama, Valentino-Smith, Vallario, Waldstreicher, Walker, and A. Washington
Introduced and read first time: January 23, 2017

Assigned to: Environment and Transportation

## A BILL ENTITLED

1 AN ACT concerning

R2

## 2

## Washington Metrorail Safety Commission Membership Act

3 FOR the purpose of requiring that certain members of the board of directors of the Washington Metrorail Safety Commission be appointed by the Governor with the 4  $\mathbf{5}$ advice and consent of the Senate; requiring one regular member of the board of 6 directors of the Commission who is appointed by the Governor to be a resident of 7 Montgomery County or Prince George's County; providing that the regular member 8 of the board of directors of the Commission who is a resident of Montgomery County 9 or Prince George's County may not be succeeded by an individual who is a resident 10 of the same county; making this Act contingent on the taking effect of another Act; 11 and generally relating to the membership of the Washington Metrorail Safety 12Commission.

- 13 BY adding to
- 14 Article Transportation
- 15 Section 7–709
- 16 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 17 (2015 Replacement Volume and 2016 Supplement)
- 18 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
   19 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 20

Article – Transportation

21 **7–709.** 

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW. [Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



1 (A) IN THIS SECTION, "COMMISSION" MEANS THE WASHINGTON 2 METRORAIL SAFETY COMMISSION ESTABLISHED UNDER § 10–208 OF THIS ARTICLE.

3 (B) TWO REGULAR MEMBERS AND ONE ALTERNATE MEMBER OF THE BOARD
4 OF DIRECTORS OF THE COMMISSION SHALL BE APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR
5 WITH THE ADVICE AND CONSENT OF THE SENATE.

6 (C) (1) ONE OF THE REGULAR MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS 7 OF THE COMMISSION WHO IS APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR SHALL BE A RESIDENT 8 OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY OR PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY.

9 (2) THE INDIVIDUAL APPOINTED UNDER THIS SUBSECTION MAY NOT 10 BE SUCCEEDED IN OFFICE BY AN INDIVIDUAL WHO IS A RESIDENT OF THE SAME 11 COUNTY.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June 13 1, 2017, contingent on the taking effect of Chapter \_\_\_\_ (S.B. \_\_/H.B. \_\_\_) (7lr0013) of the 14 Acts of the General Assembly of 2017, and if Chapter \_\_\_\_ (S.B. \_\_/H.B. \_\_\_) (7lr0013) does 15 not become effective, this Act shall be null and void without the necessity of further action 16 by the General Assembly.