SENATE BILL 1061

By: Senator Bailey

Introduced and read first time: February 26, 2020 Assigned to: Rules Re–referred to: Budget and Taxation, February 28, 2020

Committee Report: Favorable Senate action: Adopted Read second time: March 11, 2020

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2

19

St. Mary's County – Transfer Tax – Sunset Extension

- FOR the purpose of extending to a certain date the termination provision relating to the
 authority of the County Commissioners of St. Mary's County to impose a transfer tax
 on certain instruments of writing; and generally relating to the transfer tax in St.
 Mary's County.
- 7 BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,
- 8 The Public Local Laws of St. Mary's County
- 9 Section 138–1B.
- 10 Article 19 Public Local Laws of Maryland
- 11 (2007 Edition and March 2015 Supplement, as amended)
- 12 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 13 The Public Local Laws of St. Mary's County
- 14 Section 138–1F.
- 15 Article 19 Public Local Laws of Maryland
- 16 (2007 Edition and March 2015 Supplement, as amended)
- 17 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
- 18 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article 19 – St. Mary's County

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



1 138–1.

2 B. The County Commissioners may impose a transfer tax on an instrument of 3 writing:

4

(1) Recorded with the Clerk of the Circuit Court for St. Mary's County; or

5 (2) Filed with the State Department of Assessments and Taxation.

6 F. The authority granted to impose a transfer tax under this section shall 7 terminate and be of no effect after [July 1, 2020] **OCTOBER 1, 2024**.

8 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June 9 1, 2020.

Approved:

Governor.

President of the Senate.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.